(This page uses CSS style sheets)

ECOOP 2006 logo

July 3-7, Nantes (France)

AITO Dahl-Nygaard Prizes

ECOOP 2006 is delighted to host the second awards of the AITO Dahl-Nygaard prizes. Information about these prizes, including the process for making nominations for future years, is available from the AITO website.

The prizes are named for Ole-Johan Dahl and Kristen Nygaard, which jointly received the ACM A.M.Turing Award in 2001 "for ideas fundamental to the emergence of object oriented programming, through their design of the programming languages Simula I and Simula 67". In 2002, they shared the IEEE John von Neumann Medal "for the introduction of the concepts underlying object-oriented programming through the design and implementation of SIMULA 67".

A virtual exhibition honouring Dahl, Nygaard and Edsger Dijkstra, all of whom died in the summer of 2002, is available.

Winners for 2005

The first Dahl-Nygaard Prizes were given in July 2005 to Bertrand Meyer (ETH, Zurich) and to Gail Murphy (University of British Columbia). Professor Meyer is being recognized for his career contributions as a senior researcher and professor Murphy for her achievements as a junior researcher.

Winners for 2006

AITO is very proud to announce that the Dahl-Nygaard Prizes for 2006 will be given to Erich Gamma, Richard Helm, Ralph Johnson, and (posthumously) to John Vlissides. The four are together known as « Gang Of Four » and they are being recognized for their contributions to the state of the art embodied in their landmark book Design Patterns: Elements of Reusable Object-Oriented Software. Sadly, since the nomination of The Gang Of Four, John Vlissides passed away on November 24th, 2005 after a long illness. His home page – John Vlissides – has many great stories about his life from his friends and colleagues (read more).